Bin collections and recycling at Christmas

By Ross Findon

Monday, December 2, 2013

 

CHANGES to refuse collection over the Christmas period have been announced by the Isle of Wight Council.

The council said today (Monday) —

Waste normally collected on:      Will instead be collected on:

Monday, December 23                    Saturday, December 21

Tuesday, December 24                   Monday, December 23

Wednesday, December 25              Tuesday, December 24

Thursday, December 26                   Friday, December 27

Friday, December 27                       Saturday, December 28

Monday, December 30                     NO CHANGE

Tuesday, December 31                    NO CHANGE

Wednesday, January 1                    Thursday, January 2

Thursday, January 2                        Friday, January 3

Friday, January 3                            Saturday, January 4

Waste collections will resume as normal from Monday, January 6.

Christmas tree skips will be available in the following locations, from Saturday, January 4, until Sunday, January 12.

•Brighstone village car park.

•East Cowes Esplanade car park.

•Lake, New Road car park.

•Ryde, Waltzing Waters car park.

•Somerton, park and ride.

•Ventnor Botanic Garden car park.

The trees are chipped and used for green projects and as artificial trees cannot be recycled, they should not be put in the skips.

Christmas trees can also be placed with garden waste at Lynnbottom, Forest Road and Afton recycling centres.

People should not leave Christmas trees in car parks that do not have tree skips.

Christmas cards can be recycled along with normal recycling waste collected from homes.

Throughout the festive period, the civic amenity site at Lynnbottom will be open as usual from 7am to 7pm, apart from Christmas Day when it is closed all day.

Forest Road household waste recycling centre will be open every Sunday in December, from 9.30am to 4.30pm, but will be closed every Saturday.

Afton household waste recycling centre will be open every Saturday and Sunday from 9.30am to 4.30pm. Both sites are closed on weekdays as normal.

More information on waste collections can be found by logging on to www.iwight.com/waste

Comments

Log-in or register to comment on this story. See our House Rules here.

By ticking "Remember me" you agree to a cookie being stored on your computer - no personal data is shared.

Forgotten your password?

Any views or opinions presented in the comments above are solely those of the author and do not represent those of the Isle of Wight County Press.

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Delicious Icon

More News

View our Elgin Traffic & Travel Map